Hopewell Valley Central High School’s Model United Nations team took the highest prize, Best Delegation, at the Philadelphia Model UN Conference held on Feb. 26 through March 1.

It was the first time Hopewell’s Model UN has nabbed the highest prize at a conference.   Representing Turkey and Djibouti, the 23 student delegates competed against schools from around the United States and abroad, discussing and debating resolutions on the topic “The Middle East in Transition.”

Club President Audri Gill, and delegates Sienna Levy, Yash Balaji and Jake Schaeffer all got “Most Improved” honors at the conference. Maya Naphade won Outstanding Delegate and Grace Chen and Ketaki Gujar won Best Delegate honors.

The team is pictured below with their trophy. Left to right they are, front row: Faculty Advisor Dana Pomykacz, Emma Waltman, Yash Balaji, Audri Gill (holding trophy), Grace Chen, Emily Fontaine, Katie Modzelewski, and Mia Zang. Back row, left to right: Astrid Vermeulen, Lorenzo Carrara, Jake Schaffer, Charlie McMahon, Maya Naphade, Cameron Cane, Emily Janoski, Chris Cantwell, Ketaki Gujar, Sami Shaikh, Sienna Levy, Evan Kuehnert, and Grayson Glogoff. Attendees missing from the picture are Ava Gill, Navruz Baum, Sarah Fernandez, and Faculty Advisor Paul Tkacs.

Previous articleResidents Rescued from House Fire in Hopewell Hunt
Next articleWith Snow in the Forecast, Hopewell Township May Be Slow to Clear
Mary Galioto
Mary Galioto is the founder, publisher and editor of MercerMe, and a lawyer. Originally from Brooklyn, Mary has progressively moved deeper and deeper into New Jersey, settling in the heart of the state: Mercer County. Formerly the author of an embarrassingly informal blog, Mary is a lifelong writer and asker of questions and was even mentioned, albeit briefly, in the New York Times and Washington Post. In her free time, Mary fills her life with excessive self-reflection, photographing mushrooms, and misguided adventures in random hobbies. Mary also works as the PR Coordinator at the Hopewell Valley Arts Council, serves on the volunteer Board of Trustees of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail (LHT), serves on the Hopewell Borough Board of Health, is a member of the Hopewell Valley Municipal Alliance, and holds the elected position as the Hopewell Borough Democratic Committee Municipal Chairwoman.