Letter to the Editor: Hopewell Township Democratic Chair on Local Election

To the Editor:

As the Chairperson of the Hopewell Township Democratic Party, I would like to thank Kristin McLaughlin and Michael Ruger for their tireless effort and dedication to the recent Township Committee election. It’s clear the voters wanted a change in government nationally as well as locally. Ms. McLaughlin was the top vote getter while Mr. Ruger received more votes than the incumbent Todd Brant. The totals including vote by mail ballots were: McLaughlin 4,880, Hart 4,812, Ruger 4,639, Brant 4,519.

I’m confident that Ms. McLaughlin will represent all the residents of Hopewell Township. Kristin does not believe there is a Democratic way or a Republican way to solve the challenges facing all of us and she is committed to working in a collaborative manner to defend our water and the environment and protect the Township’s rural character from overdevelopment.

Finally, I would like to thank all the voters of Hopewell Township for their active participation in the election process and for taking the time to get to know our candidates.

Ray Disch

Hopewell Township

If you rely on MercerMe for your local news, please support us.

To keep the news coming, we rely on support from subscribers and advertising partners. Hyperlocal, independent, and digital — MercerMe has been providing Hopewell Valley its news since 2013. Subscribe today.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.