Hopewell Township: New Mayor Sworn In

At the Hopewell Township Committee Reorganization meeting tonight, the Hopewell Township Committee swore in the newest committee member and selected the new Hopewell Township mayor for this term, replacing former mayor Harvey Lester (R).


In attendance were notable elected officials including Senator Shirley Turner, Assemblywoman Liz Muoio, Assemblyman Paul Moriarty, Mercer County Executive Brian Hughes, Freeholders Anthony Carabelli, Pat Colavita, Andrew Koontz, Lucy Walter, and Mercer County Clerk Paula Sollami Covello, to name a few.

To a packed crowd at the Hopewell Township Municipal Building, Julie Blake was sworn by Assemblywoman Liz Muoio as a Township committee member.

Kuchinskiheadshot9 15 14With Committee Member Vanessa Sandom making the nomination, the Township committee unanimously voted Kevin Kuchinski (D) to serve as mayor. Kuchinski was sworn in by 4th District Assemblyman Paul Moriarty.

For deputy mayor, John Hart nominated Todd Brandt and Julie Blake nominated Vanessa Sandom. After being put to a vote, Vanessa Sandom was elected as deputy mayor receiving 3 out of the 5 potential votes. Sandom was sworn in by local attorney Michael Kahme.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Stay tuned to MercerMe for Mayor Kuchinski’s speech about the challenges the Township faces in the upcoming year and his plans to remedy these issues, along with a short bio.




Previous articleMommy Mayor: A Look to the New Year 2016
Next articleJCP&L Lines Being Inspected By Helicopters
Mary Galioto
Mary Galioto is the founder, publisher and editor of MercerMe. Originally from Brooklyn, Mary has progressively moved deeper and deeper into New Jersey, settling in the heart of the state: Mercer County. Formerly the author of an embarrassingly informal blog, Mary is a lifelong writer and asker of questions and was even mentioned, albeit briefly, in the New York Times and Washington Post. She holds a bachelor’s degree in English from SUNY Binghamton and a Juris Doctorate from Seton Hall Law School. In her free time, Mary fills her life with excessive self-reflection, creative endeavors, and photographing mushrooms. Mary also works as the PR Coordinator at the Hopewell Valley Arts Council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.