Eighteen Hopewell Valley High School students were recognized Monday night, by the Board of Education, for their academic performance on the PSAT (Preliminary SAT) test. The National MeritⓇ Scholarship program is a national academic competition between high school students who’ve taken the Preliminary SAT (PSAT). Of the 1.6 million students who took the test nationally, approximately 2% (34,000) received a Letter of Commendation and 1% (16,000) were designated as Semifinalists.

Thirteen students from Hopewell Valley High School (India Anderson, Catherine Dabrowski, Theo Evans, Aneesh Galgali, John Heinzel, Madeline Hoedemaker, Noam Miller, Zaina Shariff, Kenneth Shaw, Christopher Silva, Sarah Voorhees, Matthew Watterson, and David Yu) were recognized for their Letter of Commendation. Though they can no longer participate in the competition, they may be eligible for business and corporate-sponsored Special Scholarships.

Five students were recognized as Semifinalists (Harrison Fu, Daniel Kolano, Michael Liu, Evan Scott, and Lucy Tian) and hope to be selected as Finalists. Approximately 7,500 students will be selected in February as Finalists and will receive Merit Scholarships.

If you rely on MercerMe for your local news, please support us.

To keep the news coming, we rely on support from subscribers and advertising partners. Hyperlocal, independent, and digital — MercerMe has been providing Hopewell Valley its news since 2013. Subscribe today.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.