New Mayor Selected for Hopewell Township

At the annual reorganization meeting held on Monday, January 5, 2015 the five member Hopewell Township Committee selected a new Mayor and Deputy Mayor to serve for the 2015 term.  Democrat Harvey Lester, whose term ends at the end of 2015 was selected to serve as Mayor for 2015.  Republicans John Hart and Todd Brandt supported the move with newly sworn in Democrat Kevin Kuchinski abstaining, and Democrat Vanessa Sandom voting against the appointment.

For the position of Deputy Mayor, Democrat Kuchinski declined the nomination from Lester – which was followed by Republicans Hart and Todd, along with Democrat Lester electing Todd Brandt as Deputy Mayor.

Updated 1/6/15 to reflect that Lester, not Brandt, nominated Kuchinski for deputy mayor.

If you rely on MercerMe for your local news, please support us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.