New car seat regulations are about to take effect on September 1, 2015 throughout New Jersey thanks to a bill passed earlier this year. Adhereing to the current American Academy of Pediatrics (“AAP”) recommendations for use of child safety seats, New Jersey is the first state to bring its child passenger safety law in line with the AAP recommendations.
“We thank Governor Christie for signing this first-in-the-nation law, ensuring that New Jersey remains a leader in child passenger safety,” said Cathleen Lewis, director of public affairs for the AAA New Jersey Automobile Club. “Updating the law to reflect AAP recommendations is the easiest way to keep New Jersey’s children safe on the road.”
Here’s what you need to know:
- Children under two years of age and weighing less than 30 pounds must be secured in a rear-facing child passenger restraint system that is equipped with a five-point harness;
- Children between two and four years of age, weighing between 30 and 40 pounds must be secured in a child passenger restraint system that is equipped with a five-point harness (either rear or forward facing);
- Children between four and eight years of age, and measuring less than 57 inches (4’9” tall) must be secured in a child passenger restraint system that is equipped with a five-point harness, or in a booster seat.
Any person guilty of violating any of the provisions of this act can be fined between $50 and $75.
If you rely on MercerMe for your local news, please support us.
To keep the news coming, we rely on support from subscribers and advertising partners. Hyperlocal, independent, and digital — MercerMe has been providing Hopewell Valley its news since 2013. Subscribe today.